The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

"Packed with tension and unexpected twists, The Quiet Child is a powerful psychological thriller set in a time before the emergence of forensic science." -- Kathy Reichs (New York Times bestselling author of the Temperance Brennan series)

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

"The Quiet Child is a beautifully realized thriller, ... so haunting that I thought about it for days afterward. John Burley is a fearless talent." -- Glen Erik Hamilton (Edgar award-nominated author of Past Crimes)

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

"... a heartbreaking journey. Eerie, troubling, and masterfully written." -- Christine Carbo (author of The Wild Inside)

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

"... a riveting novel that engages both heart and mind. John Burley has an eye for detail, a feel for story, and a deep sympathy for his characters." -- Lou Berney (Edgar award-winning author of The Long and Faraway Gone)

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

"A taut psychological thriller ... pushes the boundaries of our understanding of the lengths a parent will go to protect their child." -- Alice LaPlante (New York Times bestselling author of Turn of Mind)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Forgetting Place

The Forgetting Place

"... a stunning revelation. Dark, intricate, and compelling." -- Kirkus Reviews

Learn More
The Forgetting Place
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“It's become a cliche to say you read a book in one sitting, and it's not true here. I had to get up in the middle of The Absence of Mercy for a drink to calm my nerves.” -- Linwood Barclay (New York Times bestselling author of Never Look Away)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

Coming August 8, 2017

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Forgetting Place

The Forgetting Place

"A fantastic psychological ride. This is one author that can scare you to death." -- Suspense Magazine

Learn More
The Forgetting Place
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“Riveting, disturbing and complex, John Burley's The Absence of Mercy is impossible to put down. The suspense starts early and is unrelenting until the very end.” -- Heather Gudenkauf (New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Forgetting Place

The Forgetting Place

"A deep dive into the darkest recesses of the human psyche ... where the ground rumbles beneath our feet and surprises wait at every turn." -- Lisa Unger (New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Love You)

Learn More
The Forgetting Place
The Quiet Child

The Quiet Child

Coming August 8, 2017

Learn More
The Quiet Child
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“In the tradition of Robin Cook and Kathy Reichs, John Burley brings murder to small town America. And like those bestselling novels, The Absence of Mercy is written by an expert who can also tell a really good tale. This one oozes authenticity.” -- Ace Atkins (New York Times bestselling author of Robert B. Parker's Wonderland)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Forgetting Place

The Forgetting Place

"Layered and evocative ... an intelligent, powerful read." -- Sophie Littlefield (bestselling author of The Missing Place)

Learn More
The Forgetting Place

John Burley is an American author and emergency medicine physician.  His debut novel, The Absence of Mercy, was honored with the National Black Ribbon Award in recognition of an author who brings a fresh, new voice to suspense writing.