The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

"A taut psychological thriller . . . pushes the boundaries of our understanding of the lengths a parent will go to protect their child." -- Alice LaPlante (New York Times bestselling author of Turn of Mind)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“It's become a cliche to say you read a book in one sitting, and it's not true here. I had to get up in the middle of The Absence of Mercy for a drink to calm my nerves.” -- Linwood Barclay (New York Times bestselling author of Never Look Away)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“Riveting, disturbing and complex, John Burley's The Absence of Mercy is impossible to put down. The suspense starts early and is unrelenting until the very end.” -- Heather Gudenkauf (New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“In the tradition of Robin Cook and Kathy Reichs, John Burley brings murder to small town America. And like those bestselling novels, The Absence of Mercy is written by an expert who can also tell a really good tale. This one oozes authenticity.” -- Ace Atkins (New York Times bestselling author of Robert B. Parker's Wonderland)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy

The Absence of Mercy

“Harlan Coben meets Patricia Cornwell in an idyllic suburbia stalked by a predator that will leave an indelible mark long after the final page is turned.” -- Wendy Corsi Staub (New York Times bestselling author of Sleepwalker)

Learn More
The Absence of Mercy

John Burley is an American author and emergency medicine physician.  His debut novel, The Absence of Mercy, was honored with the National Black Ribbon Award in recognition of an author who brings a fresh voice to suspense writing.